Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies für Funktions-, Komfort- und Statistikzwecke. Mit Klick auf „Ändern“ können Sie die Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern. Wenn Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zustimmen, klicken Sie bitte „Einverstanden“.

Bosch Global

Die Trendscouts der Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH Hongquan Jiang, Cyril Vančura, Heribert Uhl und Dieter Kraft

Suche nach der nächsten Disruption

Die Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH investiert weltweit in hoffnungsvolle Start-ups.

7 Minuten Lesezeit

Die Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH sucht weltweit nach Start-ups, die das Potenzial haben, die Spielregeln ganzer Branchen zu verändern. Dabei geht es zwar auch ums Geldverdienen, primär aber um die Sicherung von Boschs Innovationsführerschaft.

Ein mit einem Elektromotor von Torqeedo ausgestattetes Boot fährt über einen See.
Elektromotor von Torqeedo: geräuschlos übers Wasser

Eine Kamera, die über die Netzhaut des menschlichen Auges Folgeschäden von Diabetes erkennen kann; ein Elektromotor, der Boote geräuschlos übers Wasser gleiten lässt; eine smarte Brille, die Lagerarbeitern Laufwege und Fahrradfahrern Streckenprofile anzeigt. Drei Technologien, die unterschiedlicher kaum sein könnten – und dennoch etwas Entscheidendes gemeinsam haben: Sie alle sind aus Start-ups hervorgegangen und haben das Potenzial, ihre jeweilige Branche zu revolutionieren. Für die Geschäftsführer der Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH (RBVC), Ingo Ramesohl und Philipp Rose, sowie für ihre Kollegen Grund genug, um in die jungen Firmen zu investieren.

„Wir schauen uns an, wo es disruptive Innovationen geben könnte, die einen Markt völlig umkrempeln. Die wollen wir in den Bosch-Geschäftsbereichen bekannt machen – und so am Ende unsere Innovationsführerschaft sichern und ausbauen.“

Ingo Ramesohl, Geschäftsführer RBVC
Rennradfahrer fährt auf der Straße. In sein Blickfeld sind per Augmented Reality verschiendene Zusatzinformationen eingeblendet.
Nützliche Zusatzinfos für Radfahrer: Waveoptics bietet Augmented-Reality-Lösungen an

Seit 2007 strecken die Mitarbeiter der Bosch-Tochter täglich ihre Fühler aus, um das zu sehen, was für große Unternehmen wie Bosch sonst oft unter dem Radar bleibt – sei es auf Start-up-Konferenzen, auf Messen wie dem Mobile World Congress oder im Internet. Beteiligt ist die RBVC aktuell an weltweit rund 30 Unternehmen mit je fünf bis 25 Prozent. Dabei gehe es aber nicht darum, Wettbewerber aufzubauen, betont Ramesohl. „Wir investieren vielmehr in komplementäre Technologien oder Geschäftsmodelle.“ Wichtig sei in jedem Fall, dass man durch die Investitionen direkt in der Start-up-Szene aktiv sei und dadurch früh Trends und kommende Innovationen erkenne.

2 000 Firmen

haben sich die RBVC-Trendscouts im Jahr 2016 circa angeschaut. Rund 100 davon stellten sie den Geschäftsbereichen vor

Plakate verschiedener Firmen aus dem RBVC-Portfolio hängen im Flur der RBVC
Vielfältiges Portfolio: Im Flur der RBVC hängen Nachweise über ihre Firmenbeteiligungen

Eine Übernahme der Start-ups ist dabei nicht das Ziel. In der Regel hält die RBVC ihre Firmenbeteiligungen jedoch mehrere Jahre, bis sich ein guter Ausstieg anbietet. Im Sinne der Risikominimierung werden die Investitionen dabei über verschiedene Industrien, Regionen und Reifegrade der Unternehmen gestreut. Verteilt auf drei interne Fonds steht dafür aktuell ein dreistelliger Millionenbetrag zur Verfügung. Rose: „Insgesamt müssen wir für jeden Fonds mehr herausholen, als wir investieren.“ Im besten Fall läuft es so wie bei Movidius. 2013 investierte RBVC in den Hersteller von spezialisierten Chips für Bildverarbeitung. 2016 wurde Movidius für ein Vielfaches wieder verkauft – ins Silicon Valley, an Intel.

Fazit

Die Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH (RBVC) trägt dazu bei, die Innovationsführerschaft von Bosch zu sichern. Dafür investiert sie weltweit in hoffnungsvolle Start-ups. Aktuell ist die RBVC an rund 30 Unternehmen beteiligt.

Entdecken Sie mehr

Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48IC-logoutIC-upIcon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist

This website uses absolutely necessary cookies. If you consent to the use of convenience cookies, please click “Yes, I agree.” By clicking on “Change settings.” you can change this setting at any time and withdraw your given consent. More information you can find in our “data protection policy”.

The trend scouts of the Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH Hongquan Jiang, Cyril Vančura, Heribert Uhl and Dieter Kraft

Looking for the next disruption

Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH invests in promising start-ups around the world

Reading time: 7 minutes

Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH scours the globe for start-ups that have the potential to rewrite the rulebook for entire industries. Earnings potential is naturally also a factor, but the primary goal is to secure Bosch’s innovation leadership.

Share this on:

A boat equipped with a Torqeedo electric motor crossing a lake.
Torqeedo electric motor: silently gliding over the water

A camera that can detect diabetes-related damage to the retina of the human eye; an electric motor that lets boats glide noiselessly over the water; smart glasses that display elevation profiles to cyclists and guide workers around warehouses. These three technologies could scarcely be more different – and yet they have one crucial thing in common: they all originated from start-ups and have the potential to revolutionize their respective industries. For the managing directors of Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH (RBVC), Ingo Ramesohl and Philipp Rose, as well as their colleagues, that’s reason enough to invest in these new companies.

“We’re looking for the kind of disruptive innovations that could turn a market completely upside down. We want to make the Bosch divisions aware of them, with the ultimate aim of securing and expanding our innovation leadership.”

Ingo Ramesohl, managing director of RBVC
A racing bike on the road. Augmented reality technology displays additional information in the cyclist’s field of vision.
Additional information for cyclists: WaveOptics offers augmented-reality solutions

Since 2007, the daily task of associates at this Bosch subsidiary has been to put out feelers to find what would normally fly below the radar of a large company like Bosch — at start-up conferences, at trade fairs such as the Mobile World Congress, and on the internet. RBVC currently holds a stake in some 30 companies around the world, with its share ranging from 5 to 25 percent. But Ramesohl is quick to point out that this is not about making competitors stronger, but about investing in “complementary technologies or business models.” In any event, he continues, the important thing is to be directly active on the start-up scene, and in this way to detect trends and emergent innovations early on.

2,000 companies

were assessed by RBVC trend scouts in 2016, of which roughly 100 were presented to the Bosch divisions

Posters from various companies from the RBVC portfolio are located in the corridor of the RBVC.
Diverse portfolio: certificates hanging in the RBVC’s corridor give an overview of the company's investments

Acquiring the start-ups is not part of the plan. However, RBVC usually holds its shares in a company for several years until an appropriate exit opportunity presents itself. To minimize risks, the investments are spread across a variety of industries, regions, and stages of company development. RBVC currently has hundreds of millions of euros available for investment, split into three internal funds. Rose says, “All in all, for each fund we have to get back more than we put in.” Movidius, for example, proved to be a best-case scenario: RBVC invested in this manufacturer of specialized image-processing chips in 2013. In 2016, Movidius was sold to Intel in Silicon Valley – at many times the original price.

Summary

Robert Bosch Venture Capital GmbH (RBVC) helps secure the Bosch Group’s innovation leadership. It does so by investing in promising start-ups around the world. RBVC currently has stakes in some 30 companies.

Share this on:

Explore more