Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies für Funktions-, Komfort- und Statistikzwecke. Mit Klick auf „Ändern“ können Sie die Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern. Wenn Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zustimmen, klicken Sie bitte „Einverstanden“.

Bosch Global

Erin Baumgartner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, hält einen Vortrag auf der Bosch IoT-Konferenz.
Experts@IoT

„Die Lebensqualität in Städten muss besser werden“

Erin Baumgartner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

6 Minuten Lesezeit

Städte sind belebt, schön, alt – aber smart? Mit dem Internet der Dinge werden nicht nur Geräte oder Gebäude intelligent, sondern ganze Lebensräume. Erin Baumgartner, Assistant Director am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will Städte attraktiver gestalten.

Icon linkedin

Smart-City-Expertin Erin Baumgartner im Interview

„Menschen sind mehr als nur Datenpunkte, wir müssen das Erlebnis Stadt vor Augen haben.“

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

Jeder hinterlässt Daten, immer und überall

Vom Mathematiker bis zum Designer: Das Team des Senseable City Lab am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) besteht aus 40 klugen Köpfen mit ganz unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen. Gemeinsam mit Teamleiterin Erin Baumgartner, Assistant Director am MIT, verfolgen sie ein klares Ziel: Städte sollen „smart“, also intelligent vernetzt werden. „Unsere Städte haben komplexe Probleme, da ist ein vielfältiger Mix an Expertise notwendig“, so Baumgartner. Dass es immer mehr Menschen in die Städte zieht, der Verkehr zunimmt und Ressourcen knapper werden, ist seit Jahren bekannt. Doch jetzt, dank der Digitalisierung, könnten große Datenmengen dabei helfen, Lösungen zu finden. Die Daten gebe es prinzipiell bereits, man müsse sie nur richtig nutzen: „Menschen hinterlassen digitale Spuren, die eine Geschichte erzählen. Wir vom MIT erheben Daten im Umwelt- oder Finanzbereich sowie in der Telekommunikation und im Verkehrswesen. Danach verknüpfen wir sie sinnvoll zu einem Gesamtbild und legen damit los.“

„Die vielen Daten, die man aus Abwasser gewinnen kann, wurden bisher sprichwörtlich immer die Toilette runtergespült.”

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

Allwissendes Abwasser?

Eine der ergiebigsten Datenquellen für das Team um Erin Baumgartner: Abwasser. Ein Überrest unseres Alltags, der jedoch unerwartet viele Informationen enthält: „Das sind wertvolle Daten, die wir – und das ist eigentlich ein schlechter Witz – einfach die Toilette runterspülen“, erklärt Baumgartner. Da Abwasser also einiges über die Menschen verrät, die es produzieren, hat das Senseable City Lab neben zahlreichen anderen Projekten „Underworlds“ ins Leben gerufen. Spezielle iPhone-gesteuerte Roboter sammeln Daten im Abwassersystem, durch die sich urbane Epidemiologie in Echtzeit betreiben lässt. Das heißt, dass sich verändernde Gesundheitszustände innerhalb der Stadtbevölkerung überwacht werden und man gleichzeitig versucht, deren Ursachen zu entdecken. Werden beispielsweise Keime oder Viren im Abwasser gefunden, kann ein Frühwarnsystem helfen Krankheitswellen einzudämmen. So bleiben die Leute gesünder, und die Stadt spart Kosten für medizinische Versorgung. Dabei sei es besonders wichtig, nicht nur im Labor, sondern vor allem im „echten Leben“ zu forschen: „Wir wollen Städte wie Petrischalen untersuchen“, erklärt Baumgartner. „Nur so kann man herausfinden, ob die Lösungen, die man für richtig hält, auch wirklich wirksam sind.“

„Um die perfekte Stadt zu schaffen, könnte man tausend Sachen gleichzeitig angehen. Sich auf das Verkehrswesen zu konzentrieren, halte ich für einen guten Anfang.“

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

Die meisten Autos braucht kein Mensch

Was macht Städte zu gesünderen, zu lebenswerteren Orten? Eine Möglichkeit wäre, die Anzahl der Autos drastisch zu reduzieren. „90 Prozent der Autos in Städten sind überflüssig, da sie nur in fünf bis zehn Prozent der Zeit eines Tages genutzt werden. Die Abschaffung dieser Fahrzeuge hätte positive Auswirkungen auf den Verkehr, die Luftqualität und die Produktivität.“ Das Senseable City Lab hat beispielsweise den Taxi-Verkehr in New York ein Jahr lang untersucht und analysierte Daten aus rund 150 Millionen Fahrten. Das Ergebnis: würden New Yorker mit anderen gemeinsam Taxi fahren und nur fünf Minuten Wartezeit in Kauf nehmen, könnte man sich in 90 Prozent der Fälle die Fahrten teilen: „So ließen sich Staus vermeiden, was zur positiven Stimmung der Bürger beitragen würde“, sagt Baumgartner. Auch elektrische und halbautonome Fahrzeuge würden den Städten langfristig guttun. Baumgartner bezeichnet Bosch im Bereich der Elektromobilität als Vorreiter: „Die Arbeit, die Bosch leistet, ist enorm wichtig. Das Unternehmen schafft die Vernetzung zwischen verschiedenen Produkten und gibt sie als Gesamtpaket an den Kunden weiter.“

Erin Baumgartner - Assistant Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Erin Baumgartner führt seit 2014 das MIT Senseable City Lab mit Schwerpunkt „Urban Studies and Planning“ und leitet ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsteam. Sie entwickelt Partnerschaften zwischen dem Lab und Städten, Unternehmen oder Stiftungen, die die Forscher unterstützen. Ihr Studium der französischen Literatur absolvierte sie in New York und Paris.

Erin Baumgartner spricht auf der Bühne der Bosch IoT-Konferenz
Erin Baumgartner leitet ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsteam am MIT

Fazit

Um lebenswert zu bleiben, müssen Städte intelligenter werden. Erin Baumgartner und ihr Team vom MIT arbeiten an ‚Smart Cities’, indem sie zielgerichtet Daten erheben. Dadurch sollen etwa Staus vermieden und Krankheitswellen vorhergesagt werden.

Entdecken Sie mehr

Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist

This website uses absolutely necessary cookies. If you consent to the use of convenience cookies, please click “Yes, I agree.” By clicking on “Change settings.” you can change this setting at any time and withdraw your given consent. More information you can find in our “data protection policy”.

Bosch Global

Erin Baumgartner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, giving a speech on stage of Bosch's IoT conference.
Experts@IoT

“Cities have to be more pleasurable to live in“

Erin Baumgartner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Reading time: 6 minutes

Cities are lively, beautiful, and old — but are they smart, too? The internet of things doesn’t just make devices and buildings intelligent, but entire living environments, too. Erin Baumgartner, Assistant Director at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, hopes to make cities more attractive.

Icon linkedin

An interview with Erin Baumgartner, an expert on smart cities

“People are not just data points, you have to think about the human experience within the city.”

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

We all leave a data trail, no matter where we are or what time it is

From mathematicians to designers: the team from Senseable City Lab at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) is made up of 40 brilliant minds with a wide array of expertise. Working with team leader Erin Baumgartner, Assistant Director at MIT, they are pursuing a clear goal: cities need to be smart, in other words connected in intelligent networks. “Our cities face complex problems, meaning that a diverse mixture of expertise is required”, explains Baumgartner. Experts have known for years that more and more people are moving to cities, traffic levels are on the up and resources are running out. However, thanks to the digital revolution, large quantities of data can now help to find solutions. In principle, the data is already there, we just need to use it properly: “People leave behind digital trails that tell a story. Here at MIT, we collect data on the environment, finances, telecommunications and traffic. We link it all together to look at the bigger picture and then we really get going.”

“The rich amount of data in sewage had literally been just flushed down the toilet.”

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

Sewage that knows it all?

One of the richest sources of data for Erin Baumgartner and her team? Sewage. It may be the waste from our daily lives but it also contains an incredible amount of information: “It’s all valuable data — and this is a really bad joke — but we just flush it down the toilet”, explains Baumgartner. Because sewage can reveal something about the people who create it, the Senseable City Lab has set up “Underworlds”, along with a number of other projects. Special iPhone-controlled robots collect data in the sewage system, which allows urban epidemiology to take place in real time. This means that changing health problems among the city’s population can be monitored and, at the same time, their causes can potentially be identified. For example, if germs and viruses are identified in waste water, an early warning system can help to stop waves of illness. As a result, people stay healthier and the city saves money on medical care. Here, it is particularly important to conduct research both in the lab and, in particular, in real life: “We want to study cities like petri dishes”, explains Baumgartner. “This is the only way we can find out whether the solutions we believe to be correct are actually effective, too.”

“There are a thousand things that you could focus on to create the perfect city, but I think starting with transportation is one way in.”

Erin Baumgartner, MIT

Most cars aren’t needed

What could make cities healthier, better places to live? One way would be to drastically reduce the number of cars. “90% of cars in cities are superfluous, as they are only used for about 5 to 10% of the day. Getting rid of these vehicles would have a positive impact on traffic, air quality and productivity.” For instance, the Senseable City Lab researched taxi traffic in New York for an entire year and analysed data for 150 million journeys. The result? If New Yorkers were willing to take a joint taxi and accept a 5-minute wait, they could share journeys in around 90% of cases. “This would prevent traffic jams, which would help to create a positive atmosphere among New Yorkers”, explained Baumgartner. Electric and semi-autonomous cars would also do cities good over the long term. Baumgartner calls Bosch a pioneer in the field of electromobility: “The work that Bosch is doing is enormously important. The company is creating a network of various products and passing them on to the customer as an overall package.”

Erin Baumgartner — Assistant Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Erin Baumgartner has been running MIT’s Senseable City Lab since 2014, focussing on Urban Studies and Planning. She leads a multidisciplinary research team and develops partnerships between the lab and cities, companies or foundations that support the researchers. She completed her degree in French Literature in New York and Paris.

Erin Baumgartner giving a speech at the Bosch IoT conference
Erin Baumgartner leads a multidisciplinary research team at MIT

Summary

To remain attractive to residents, cities have to become more intelligent. Erin Baumgartner and her team at MIT are working on smart cities by collecting specific types of data. This will help to avoid traffic jams and predict waves of illness.

Explore more